Monday, June 30, 2014

concerts, concerts, concerts

hello everyone! wowie it was a busy weekend. i started a job watching some pets, went to a concert about an hour away, went to the Bruno Mars concert AND went to the Delta Rae concert (and of course continued binge watching Ugly Betty).

The Iron and Wine concert wasnt really my thing, i mean i'd never heard their music before, well his music before. it was one guy. I liked the opener though, the Secret Sisters, i think they were called. They were mostly country, i really liked their harmonies. Oh, Iron and Wine was kind of... i dont really know the genre but the songs are pretty similar. or maybe i just thought they were because i'd never heard them before. I liked the venue though because we could just sit down and there was not a lot of screaming (besides the slightly hammered 20 something man who'd yell ow ow ow after every. single. song.)

the Bruno Mars concert was so good! it was a totally different vibe than Iron and Wine, obviously. lots of screaming, way more energy and he was a great performer. i really liked how the lights changed when the drums were hit i guess? i'm not describing it very well but i feel like you will know what im talking about. I also liked that he had a sax player and trombone player (i forget if there was another horn instrument or not) in addition to the usual bass guitar/regular electric guitar and the drummer.the opener Aloe Blacc was good as well, i didnt know he sang the song Wake Me Up (by avicci, i guess avicci is like the dj or something) or the song called The Man (im the man im the man im the man). here are a few pictures my friend took:


and then my sister and i went to the Delta Rae concert last night and that was so fun! however, there werent any seats, so we stood the whole time, which was fine but my knees hurt for a bit after. it was my first time at the house of blues. it wasnt too packed which i liked because i found this band a year and a half ago and they arent that popular, idk do you ever feel like a band you like is "your band" kind of? and it wasnt as hot because there wasnt tons of people! and i was in what you'd call the third row, but it wasnt organized like that. ANYWAY, they were super energetic and cool and here are some pictures (am i allowed to post videos? idk.. just to be safe i wont but check out their youtube videos/spotify if you want to hear their music)



so that was my weekend. thanks for reading :) have a super day

xx naomi

ps does anyone get my attempt at a modern family reference with the title? like closets, closets, closets, closets? i would've added another concerts but i only went to three. 
Continue Reading...

Followers