the title says it all really, i recently finished binge watching a show ( UGLY BETTY(!!!!!!!) and yes my life is incomplete) and i think no matter what kind of show someone binge watches, it usually goes something like this...
1. you are referred to watch the show (is that proper grammar? probs not. (srry grammar nazis. wait thats cultural appropriation i think, ah srry cultural appropriation-ists. i can never win))
this can go down a couple of different ways, including (but not limited to): a friend tells you to watch it, you hear about it everywhere (*cough* orange is the new black *cough*), or in my case i saw my sister watching Ugly Betty. Any of these things all lead you to start your weeks worth (depending on the episode length/number of episodes) hibernation in front of your computer (because who binge watches things on the television??)
2. you begin the show
ok, im guessing it can only go two ways from here. either you are glued to the screen within a matter of minutes of the pilot starting (which was my experience) or i guess you just dont get into the show, which is fine too, except this whole post wont really apply to you. whateverrrrrr.
3. you binge-watch the show
boring step, self-explanatory, not much to add besides you probably talk about it all the time, ok next "stage". (this is kinda sounding like a sickness......take that how you will) oh and most likely you will see that one guy who was in _______ or that girl who was an extra in that one special about blah blah blah, you get the gist. i downloaded the IMDB app just for these things because it happened at least 5 times in my experience.
4. you end the tv show
after the final finale i felt as though all the characters were family members who died. and we only have old voicemails or home videos left of them (this feeling will become more prominent depending on the number of seasons). no more seeing them get older (as in a teenager, not a middle aged person because that'd be weird to want to see them get old.er.) or IF A CERTAIN SHOW NEVER GAVE THEIR VIEWERS THE CLARITY OF IDK A KISS IN THE LAST SCENE EVER?!?! on that same note, inevitably there will be something you dont agree with/like in the last episode (himym, anyone? i actually never watched that but the finale seemed to have extreme mixed reviews.)
5. you try pretty much anything to keep the show alive
or was it just me who looked up interviews of the actors about the show, imdb-d each cast member to see what else they were in, and scrolled through dozens of gifs on tumblr?
hope that partially applied to you, maybe? or at least enjoyed my mediocre writing skillz
xx naomi
ps BRB DYING BECAUSE SCHOOL STARTS IN LESS THAN A MONTH AND I HAVENT STARTED SUMMER READING/SUMMER MATH OK BYE
No comments:
Post a Comment